Neelam Sanjeeva Reddy

Mr.  Neelam Sanjeeva Reddy

  • 1978
  • Chief Guest
(May 18, 1913 - June 1, 1996). Sixth President of India. A veteran statesman and administrator. Born in a peasant family at Illuri village in the Anantapur District (Andhra Pradesh). Early education at the Theosophical High School at Adyar in Madras; later joined the Arts College at Anantapur. In 1931, gave up his studies to take part in the freedom movement. Had been a Member of the Madras Legislative Assembly, Indian Constiutent Assembly, Rajya Sabha, the first Chief Minister .... Read More
Jugatram Dave

Mr.  Jugatram Dave

  • 1978
  • Jamnalal Bajaj Award for Constructive Work
Born in 1895 in Kathiawar. Established Vedhchhi Ashram which has grown into one of our most remarkable centres of rural education and an institutional symbol of the Sarvodaya idea. Led a life of simplicity and detachment – a shining example of Gandhiji's anasakti yoga. Gandhi Vidyapeeth, Vedchhi, District Surat, Gujarat - 394641 Tel: 02625 - 222505 / 20154 Read More
Satish Chandra Das Gupta

Mr.  Satish Chandra Das Gupta

  • 1978
  • Jamnalal Bajaj Award for Application of Science and Technology for Rural Development
Born in Kurigram, now in Bangladesh. A pioneer in the field of rural reconstruction and an outstanding research scientist, he represents the commingling of the streams of Science and Satyagraha. Set up the Krishi Research Farm in Gogra in Bankura district. Krishi Research Farm, P.O. & Village Gogra, Via: Jhantipahari, District Bankura, West Bengal – 722137 Read More